Psychopharmacology Research Group » Team » History

History of Neuorpsychopharmacology group

The Neuropsychopharmacology group was established by the late Emeritus Prof. Z. Papadopoulou-Daifoti that inspired and led the group for more than two decades. 

Major role at the establishment of the Neuropsychopharmacology group world-wide was played by the late Professor Christina Spyraki. Also, Dr. Katerina Antoniou, who is currently an Associate Professor of Pharmacology at the University of Ioannina, was a senior member of the group for many years and contributed remarkably to its establishment and success. Since the late 1990s numerous researchers joined the group, as post-graduate students or post-doctoral fellows. Most of them are currently employed in the industry, in research institutions or in the academia. The group is currently led by Assistant Professor of Psychopharmacology Dr. Christina Dalla

The facilities of the group were relocated and heavily reconstructed in 2015, as a new animal house had to be built. The original infrastructure of the neuropsychopharmacology research group, just before relocation can be seen in old photos

An obituary to the memory of Emeritus Prof. Z. Papadopoulou-Daifoti was written by Dr. Osborne Almeida at the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry.